Burn Out

Visual Identity for a weekend of talks, events and live music at E-WERK Luckenwalde on 1 – 2 July 2023

Designed in collaboration with
Eva Dumoulin

E-WERK Luckenwalde

Artistic Director and Curator
Helen Turner

E-WERK Burn Out Team
Pablo Wendel
Adriana Tranca
Katharina Worf
Katherine Thomson
Florine Linder
Nicola Jeffs
Marenka Kramosil
Lea Moheit
Antonia Grohmann
Livni Holtz
Moritz Schmolke
Mila Panic
Stefan Dorn
Omri Livne
Sebastian Reinicke
Alison Midgley

Bespoke Typefaces
Kantonal & TSI Spiral by Sascha Bente

Stefan Korte

Year 2023

The symposium invited transdisciplinary speakers to present their individual research on specific themes related to human sustainability including climate and capitalism, de-growth and environmental imperialism and raise questions including how can we begin to enact radical care on an immediate, local and global level to repair colonial exploitations? Who does the green transition exploit? What are the limits to degrowth? Performances will be splintered throughout the programme to create pockets of non-didactic reflection to champion art as an equally valuable form of knowledge transmission.

Featuring talks by Cem A. also known as @freeze_magazine; Vanessa Machado de Oliveira Andreotti, Author and Indigenous and Land Rights advocate; Giulia Bellinetti, Head of Nature Research at Jan Van Eyck Academie; Jan Boelen, Atelier LUMA Artistic Director; Manuel Cirauqui, Curator, Guggenheim Museum Bilbao; Kim Kraczon, Conservator; Mae-ling Lokko, Architect, Designer and, Educator; Lucia Pietroiusti, Curator; Rebecca Salvadori, Artist; Brigitte Faber-Schmidt, Head of the Culture Department in the Ministry of Science, Research and Culture of the State of Brandenburg; Viktorija Šiaulytė, Rupert Centre for Art and Education Director and Sinthujan Varatharajah, Political Geographer.

There were workshops from Kunststrom Labor and TU-Berlin Students, comedy sketches by Tamika Campbell, Carmen Chraim and Mila Panic, exhibitions and film reels from artists Agnes Denes, Kira Freije, FM Einheit, Antoinette Yetunde Oni,Rebecca Salvadori and Tin Wilke & Laura Fong Prosper, plus music from Composer and Lutenist, Jozef Van Wissem; Einstürzende Neubaten Founding Member FM Einheit; Songwriter, Artist, Vocalist Coby Sey; Drummer-composer, Multi-instrumentalist Valentina Magaletti and Musicians Epsilove, ABIBA and Juba.

Watch on Youtube.